SDSM&T Home                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Current Weather Conditions at IAS

Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences 

at SDSM&T    


AboutAcademicsProspective StudentsResearchPeopleContact


Home > People

 

Faculty and Staff 

 

Dr. Andy Detwiler

Dr. Andrew G. Detwiler
Professor
 

Areas of expertise:
Airborne Meteorology Measurements, Atmospheric Physics

E-mail: Andrew.Detwiler@sdsmt.edu
Webpage:
http://webpages.sdsmt.edu/~adetwile/

Phone: 605-394-1995

Darren Clabo

Darren R. Clabo
State Fire Meteorologist, Instructor

Areas of expertise: Fire Meteorology,
Radar Meteorology, Mesoscale Meteorology

E-mail: Darren.Clabo@sdsmt.edu

Webpage: http://www.ias.sdsmt.edu/clabo/index.htm

Phone: 605-394-1996

Dr. Bill CapehartDr. William J. Capehart
AES Program Coordinator, Associate Professor

Areas of expertise: Hydrometeorology, Water Resources and Climate, Regional Climate Modeling, Modeling & Remote Sensing of Surface Processes 
E-mail: William.Capehart@sdsmt.edu

Phone: 605-394-1994

 

 

Donna Kliche

Dr. Donna Kliche
Associate Professor
 
Areas of expertise: Microphysics of clouds, atmospheric physics, scientific analysis of airborne meteorological measurements and surface precipitation data.
E-mail: Donna.Kliche@sdsmt.edu
 

Phone: 605-394-1957

 

Dr. Adam French

Dr. Adam J. French
Assistant Professor

Areas of expertise:
Severe storms, mesoscale meteorology, numerical modeling, and forecasting

E-mail: Adam.French@sdsmt.edu

Phone: 605-394-1649

Dr. Lisa Kunza
Assistant Professor

Areas of expertise: Aquatic ecology, biogeochemistry, phycology, outreach

E-mail: Lisa.Kunza@sdsmt.edu

Phone: 605-394-2449

 

 

Professors Emeriti

Dr. Paul Smith

Dr. Paul L. Smith
Professor Emeritus

Areas of expertise: Radar Meteorology 
 

E-mail: Paul.Smith@sdsmt.edu

Phone: 605-394-1990

Dr. John HelsdonDr. John H. Helsdon
Research Scientist, Professor Emeritus

Areas of expertise: Lightning
E-mail:
 John.Helsdon@sdsmt.edu

Phone: 605-394-1987

 

Dr. Mark HjelmfeltDr. Mark R. Hjelmfelt
Research Scientist, Professor Emeritus

Areas of expertise: Mesoscale Meteorology, Radar Meteorology, Severe Storms, and Cloud Physics
 
E-mail:  Mark.Hjelmfelt@sdsmt.edu

Phone: 605-394-1991

 

 
 

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Matthew Bunkers, National Weather Service
Dr. John Helsdon, Professor Emeritus
Dr. Mark Hjelmfelt
, Professor Emeritus
Dr. John Stamm
Dr. Gary Johnson

 

 

Department of Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences
Current Graduate Students
Students may be reached by phone at 605-394-2291
 

M.S. Students

E-mail

Ballweber, Alana

alana.ballweber@mines.sdsmt.edu

Carmichael, Aaron

aaron.carmichael@mines.sdsmt.edu

Gerber, Brianne

brianne.gerber@mines.sdsmt.edu

Hastings, Rebecka

rebecka.hastings@mines.sdsmt.edu

King, Thomas

thomas.king@mines.sdsmt.edu

Lueck, Ryan

ryan.lueck@mines.sdsmt.edu

Miller, Kenneth

kenneth.miller@mines.sdsmt.edu

Moldan, Cody

cody.moldan@mines.sdsmt.edu

Nelson, Connor

timothy.nelson@mines.sdsmt.edu

Schaefer, Alex

alexander.schaefer@mines.sdsmt.edu

Torres, Jorel

jorel.torres@mines.sdsmt.edu

Walter, Erin

erin.walter@mines.sdsmt.edu

Ward, Aaron

aaron.ward@mines.sdsmt.edu

Werner, Ulrike

ulrike.werner@mines.sdsmt.edu

Wipf, Jacey

Jacey.wipf@mines.sdsmt.edu


PhD. Students

 

Clabo, Darren

darren.clabo@sdsmt.edu

Gautam, Sushil

sushil.gautam@mines.sdsmt.edu

Norton, Parker

parker.norton@mines.sdsmt.edu

Tinant, Jason

jason.tinant@mines.sdsmt.edu

   

 

(Page updated 06/17/2013)

 

Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology  501 East Saint Joseph Street Rapid City, SD 57701

Office: (605) 394-1994

 

SDSMT Logo